Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II

Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II. (Open Map)


In Piazza Vittorio was one of the main open markets of the city (today in the ex Caserma Pepe close by). The square was built in 1870 and was given the name of the first king of Italy. 

In the middle of it is a garden and the ruins of a Roman fountain dating back to the III century AD (age of Septimius Severus), previously decorated with Gaius Marius trophies moved in the 16th century to the balustrade of Piazza del Campidoglio. On the back of the square is a fountain with a bronze group by Mario Rutelli. 

Facing the ruins is the curious “Magic door” with Cabbalistic symbols and flanked by two monstrous figures. In a corner of the square you can spot the Church of Sant'Eusebio dating back to the IV century and restored in 1230 under Pope Gregorius IX, it was rebuilt in 1711 by Stefano Fontana. The square is surrounded by porticoed buildings by Koch, Codesti and other architects.