Designed by architect Angelo Vescovali, the bridge was built in the years between 1898 and 1901 to replace the iron footbridge of ponte di Ripetta, temporarily built in 1878.
It has five masonry arches, is covered with travertine, is long 112 meters and wide 20 meters. It connects the district of Prati to the Campus Martius. Under the piers in the so called “piagaro” – the crook of the Tiber where the sand settled forming small beaches – went Romans to refresh.
They went there in special occasions to eat fava beans and pasta with “ciriole” (fresh water fish), served upon the “sciacquarelli” (small shovels used by boatmen to throw water away from the boats).