In 1932 the project of building this bridge was assigned to architect Brasini. It was initially given the name of "Ponte XXVIII Ottobre" (Bridge of October 28) in memory of the date of Mussolini’s march on Rome. Instead at the end of the war it was called "Ponte della Libertà" (Bridge of Liberty) to celebrate regained democracy.
It assumed its final name of Ponte Flaminio in1961 after the nearby consular road. It rests on 7 reinforced concrete arches and is 256 m (284 yd) long and 27 m (30yd) wide