What to see in Rome

(75)

Palazzo Wedekind

Palazzo Wedekind is a palazzo in Piazza Colonna in Rome, Italy, located next to the church of Santi Bartolomeo ed Alessandro dei Bergamaschi. It is notable as the historic offices of the daily paper Il Tempo.

On a site occupied in...

(75)

Ponte Cestio

This bridge links the Tiber Island to Trastevere district. It was built around 46 BC probably by Lucius Cestius and left by Caesar to the government of Rome during the war with Spain. Numerous restorations and reconstructions were made during the...

(75)

Ponte Vittorio Emanuele II

This bridge was conceived by Ennio De Rossi who designed it in 1886. It was inaugurated on June 5 1911, on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the proclamation of the Kingdom of Italy. 

It connects Corso Vittorio Emanuele with the...

(75)

Porta Pia

Porta Pia is a gate in the Aurelian Walls of Rome, Italy. One of Pope Pius IV's civic improvements to the city, it is named after him. Situated at the end of a new street, the Via Pia, it was designed by Michelangelo in replacement for the Porta...

(75)

Magistrale Villa of the Sovereign Order of Malta (Villa of the Priory of Malta)

Villa del Priorato di Malta, on the Aventine Hill is home to the Grand Priory in Rome of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, an order of chivalry, which remains a sovereign entity. It also hosts the embassy of the Order of Malta to Italy. The...

(75)

Basilica of Santa Maria in Montesanto (Church of the Artists)

It owes its name to a little Church for the Virgin run by the Carmelites. The holy mount par excellence is Mount Carmel in Jerusalem. The new building, maybe contemporary to the twin church Santa Maria dei Miracoli, was built by the Cardinal...

(75)

Church of Santa Maria dei Miracoli

Located in Piazza del Popolo, looking at Via del Corso to the right, it is one of the twin sisters along with Santa Maria in Montesanto. Drawn by architect Carlo Rainaldi in 1611, it was completed by Bernini with the collaboration of Carlo...

(75)

Saint Vincent and Anastasia Church in Trevi Fountain

Near the Fontana di Trevi one finds the Chiesa dei SS. Vincenzo e Anastasio built via a project by Martino Longhi il Giovane architect in 1650. The rich Baroque façade has a double order of Corinthian columns. Ten columns in the lower order and...

(75)

Bee Fountain

The fountain of the Api (Bees) was built in1644 by Gian Lorenzo Bernini. It was originally situated at the corner between Via Felice (today Via Sistina) and Piazza Barberini, and leaned against the small palace owned by Nicolò Soderini. It was...

(75)

Fontana d'Acqua Paola (Fontanone del Gianicolo)

Better known as the “fontanone del Gianicolo” (big fountain on the Janiculum Hill), the large fountain of the Acqua Paola was built between 1608 and 1612 by pope Paul the Fifth Borghese (1605-1621) to celebrate the restoration wanted by him of...

(75)

Nerva forum

This Forum was built by Domitian (81-96 AD), but inaugurated after his death by his successor Nerva in 97 AD. The name Transitory Forum derives from the fact that it was created in the narrow long space between the Forum of Peace, the Forum of...

(75)

Monte Mario - Parco Mellini

Walk along the Via Trionfale, near the Church Santa Maria del Rosario (1650) and you find, opposite the church, the entrance to the Viale di Parco Mellini that leads to the top of Monte Mario (139 m), geodesic point of Rome meridian. 

Here...

(75)

Museum and Cappuccino Crypt

(75)

Vatican Obelisk

(75)

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne (Chapel of San Filippo Neri)

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne is a masterpiece by Baldassarre Peruzzi, who built it in 1532-1536 on a site of three contiguous palaces owned by the old Roman Massimo family that were destroyed during the Sack of Rome (1527). 

The curved...

(75)

Ponte Sisto

Probably built by Marcus Aurelius in 211 A.D., it was originally called "Pons Aurelius" and successively "Pons Janicularis" due to the nearby Janiculus Hill. Destroyed by a flood of the Tiber river in 792 it was called "Rotto" (Broken) until it...

(75)

Trastevere

(75)

Via del Corso

(75)

Basilica of the SS. XII Apostles

The Basilica dei SS. Apostoli was probably ordered by Pope Pelagio I after the expulsion of the Goti (C.VI), restored by Martino V Colonna, by Sisto IV della Rovere and Pio IV Medici, it was almost fully rebuilt by Francesco Fontana. The...

(75)

Jewish Catacombs of Vigna Randanini

These catacombs were discovered in 1859 and are one of the best examples of burial structures of Rome’s Jewish community, already present in this city as far back as the 2nd century BC and that became increasingly more numerous especially during...

(75)

Naiad's Fountain

The fountain of the Acqua Marcia, renamed Aqua Pia in honour of Pious the Ninth Mastai Ferretti (1846-1878), who restored it was once placed in a different position from the current one, approximately where the small obelisk of the monument to...

(75)

The Passetta di Borgo

The Passetto di Borgo, or er Corridore (the passageway), is an elevated and fortified passage that links the Vatican City with the Castel Sant'Angelo. It is approximately 800 m long, located in the rione of Borgo. 

It was erected in 1277...

(75)

The Four Fountains

The fountains are placed in the corners of the four buildings that stand at the crossing between Via delle Quattro Fontane and Via XX Settembre, each within a niche. They were built between 1588 and 1590 under pope Sixtus the Fifth Peretti...

(75)

Zuccari Palace or Monastery House

The Baroque palace was built by Federico Zuccari, after his own design, in 1592 to house an Art Academy. It has a portal and two windows representing monstrous faces with gaping mouths. Today, together with the near palace Stroganoff, is the seat...

(75)

Palazzo Bonaparte (today Misciatelli)

Built in 1660 by Giovanni Antonio de Rossi for the D'Aste family, it was then acquired by the Rinucci family and in 1818 by Napoleon's mother, Letizia Ramolino. She lived here, after the fall of her son, until her death in 1836. 

The three...

(75)

Palazzo Caffarelli

Building work was begun by Ascanio Caffarelli in 1538 on family property situated close to the Palazzo dei Conservatori; it was completed after 1680. 

The building looked out onto the courtyard of the Palazzo dei Conservatori while its...

(75)

Palazzo Mattei of Jupiter

Palazzo Mattei di Giove, also known as Palazzo Antici Mattei was built by Carlo Maderno between 1598 and 1618 and is one of the most prestigious examples of seventeenth century Rome. 

Now it is the seat of the Center for American Studies,...

(75)

Palazzo Poli - Trevi Fountain

The National Institute for Graphics –Chalcography was constituted in 1975 through the merge between the National Cabinet of Prints and the National Chalcography and keeps drawings, prints, andengraved matrixes. 

The chalcographic...

(75)

Palazzo Rospigliosi Pallavicini and Gallery

Built in 1605 on the ruins of the baths of Constantine by Flaminio Ponzio for cardinal Scipio Borghese, it was embellished by Giovanni Vasanzio with a sloping terraced garden. The palazzo belonged to the Altemps, Bentivoglio, Lante families, to...

(75)

Palazzo Santacroce Aldobrandini (or Mount of Pietà)

(75)

San Callisto

Converted into a church by Gregory III in 741 over the martyrdom place of the saint (hence its name), it was restored by Orazio Torriani in 1610 for the Benedictine monks of Montecassino. 

The facade has two late-renaissance orders. In the...

(75)

Santa Anastasia at Palatine

The church has ancient origins. It was already present in the second half of C.IV. It was built on the ruins of the house of the dead saint’s husband, who died in Dalmatia asa martyr in 305. 

The construction was enlarged under Leo III in...

(75)

Santa Caterina da Siena to via Giulia

It was built in 1526 following based on a plan by Baldassare Peruzzi’s plan and, in 1766, demolished and rebuilt by Paolo Posi in 1766. The facade reminds recalls Borromini’s shapes and is decorated by a double set of columns crowned by a...

(75)

Arch of the Argentari

The arch leans on the Church of Giorgio al Velabro and was built in 204 AD by the guild of the "argentari" i.e. bankers exchange agents and by the cattle dealers in honor of the emperor Septimius Severus and of his family. The arch consists of...

(75)

Holy Area of ​​Largo Argentina

The Area Sacra (Sacred Area) complex in Largo Argentina is delimited by Via Florida, Via di San Nicola de’ Cesarini, Via di Torre Argentina, and Largo Argentina. Four temples of the republican period discovered during the works performed in the...

(75)

Gothic Saints Four Crowned Saints

The Gothic Hall is located on the first floor of the Main Tower. It was the most prestigious room in the cardinal's palace built by Stefano Conti. This place hosted feasts and receptions and was used as a court of law.
A glorious example of...

(75)

Casa dei Crescenzi

Decorated with archaeological fragments, the house is what is left of a fortified tower dating from the 12th century. It was built between 1040 and 1065 by the Crescenzi family to control over the ancient wharves of Rome (now hosting the Registry...

(75)

Column of the Immaculate

In 1777 a veined-cipolin column was found during works for enlargement of the convent of the Benedectine nuns of S. Maria in Campo Marzio. It was almost 12 meters high and had a diameter of almost 1 meter and a half. Due to its incompleteness it...

(75)

Triton Fountain

This fountain was designed by Carlo Francesco Bizzaccheri in 1717 and sculpted by Francesco Moratti under pope Clement the Eleventh Albani (1700-1721). It is situated in front of the basilica di Santa Mariain Cosmedin in the surroundings of the...

(75)

Fontana di Piazza Colonna

This fountain was designed by Giacomo Della Porta and built by the sculptor Rocco Rossi from Fiesole in 1575 and completed in 1577. It presents an octagonal pond with the sides alternatively concave and convex in portasanta marble and decorated...